2024 has finally come and several new laws have come into effect in the Sunshine State. Two of these laws, in particular, could have an impact on your next trip to Disney World in Florida. Let’s delve into the details of HB425 and SB 76, which respectively expand the “Move Over Law” and revise campsite reservation rules.
Move Over Law Expansion
House Bill 425
While a lot of folks fly into Orlando International Airport to start their Disney World vacation, there are still a huge number of people who live in Florida or nearby states who drive into the Orlando area.
The first law to be aware of is the expansion of Florida’s “Move Over” law. This legislation, which took effect from January 1, 2024, strengthens the state’s existing Move Over Law by requiring drivers to move over or slow down for all disabled vehicles that are stopped and displaying hazard lights, emergency flares or signage. Previously, this law only applied to emergency vehicles.
This change could affect anyone planning a road trip to Disney World. Whether you are driving a rental car or your own vehicle, it’s crucial to be aware of this new requirement. Not only does this law aim to increase safety on Florida’s roads, but failure to comply could result in fines and penalties.
Campsite Reservation Rules
Senate Bill 76
The second law that could affect your Disney World vacation is SB 76. This law revises the rules for reserving campsites at state parks in Florida. The Division of Recreation and Parks of the Department of Environmental Protection is now required to allow both Florida residents 1 month advance opportunity to book reservations at campground and state parks.
..the amendment does the following — it allows Florida residents to make reservations 11 months in advance and non-residents 10 months in advance.
Senator Ed Hooper
For Disney World visitors planning a trip to Disney’s Fort Wilderness, which is considered a campground, this new law could affect how far in advance they would be able to make reservations. Florida residents should be able to submit their State-issued ID, and book up to 11 month in advance, while non-residents would need to wait until 10 months out.
These new laws reflect Florida’s commitment to ensuring the safety and enjoyment of all who visit and reside in the state. So, as you plan your next trip to Disney World, make sure to keep these laws in mind to ensure a smooth and enjoyable vacation experience.
Stay tuned to the DVC Shop blog for all the latest developments for Disney fans, whether that’s what’s happening in the Disney theme parks or around Disney Vacation Club resorts!
Rachel Van Norman
Rachel fell deeply in love with all things Disney as a little girl. Now as a wife and a mother herself, she shares this Disney obsession with her son and everyone around her. From her love of princesses to eating all the Disney food, Rachel spends her time radiating Disney magic and keeping everyone up to date on Disney news.